Prices
Guide prices for social housing works
Rounded planning figures, each with its published source or marked as derived or our estimate, and with the VAT basis the source records. Checked 31 October 2026.
Void works cost social landlords about £3,700–£5,700 per void on average, a kitchen in a replacement programme about £5,000–£10,000 and a flat entrance fire doorset about £2,400–£3,900. The tables below give each figure's source, year and VAT basis; every job is priced after survey.
Repairs and voids
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Responsive repair, average job | per job | £150–£250 | not stated (accounting cost) | Derived from published totals: Our range around the Housemark sector average of about £180 per repair (2024/25), cited in Homes in Somerset board minutes, March 2026. Priority mix, trade, materials, travel and access attempts. |
| Minor void (safety checks, repairs, decoration, clean) | per void | £1,500–£3,500 | our estimate, ex VAT | Our estimate: No published minor/major split exists; Dudley's May 2025 monthly average of £2,451 is the only low anchor we found. Decoration extent, flooring, clearance and number of certificates. |
| Major void (kitchen, bathroom, rewire or heating) | per void | £6,000–£15,000 | our estimate, ex VAT | Our estimate: Built from the kitchen, bathroom and rewire rows on this page. Which components are replaced and whether damp, structural or asbestos work is found. |
| Disrepair schedule of works | per case | £1,500–£8,000 | our estimate, ex VAT | Our estimate: Schedules vary too widely for a published benchmark. Number of schedule items, damp root causes, and access. |
| Acquisition / temporary accommodation refurbishment | per home | £8,000–£25,000 | our estimate, ex VAT | Our estimate: For context, Local Authority Housing Fund Round 4 allows £21,000 per home for refurbishment, energy efficiency, decoration and furnishing. Condition on purchase, kitchen and bathroom needs, furnishing and energy works. |
Damp, mould and building fabric
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Damp and mould: typical case (1–2 rooms, mould treatment, extract fan) | per home | £450–£1,150 | ex VAT | Derived from published totals: Mould treatment £200–£400 per room and a new extractor fan at £250–£350 (Checkatrade, 2024–26). The Awaab's Law impact assessment uses an average of £985 per home for Category 1 damp and mould remediation (BRE 2023 data). Number of rooms, redecoration and the cause found. |
| Damp and mould: severe case (whole-home treatment, PIV, fans) | per home | £2,000–£5,500 | ex VAT | Derived from published totals: Whole-house mould treatment £700–£3,000 and PIV units at £763–£1,750 (Checkatrade, 2024). Excludes fabric causes such as roofs, gutters or insulation, which are priced separately. |
| Pitched roof re-covering (2–3 bed house) | per house | £7,000–£18,000 | ex VAT | Published figure: Consumer guide £7,000–£16,250 (gable) and £9,250–£18,000 (hip), scaffold extra (Checkatrade, October 2024). Roof area and pitch, tile type, chimneys, timber condition and scaffold sharing. |
| Flat roof renewal | per roof | £2,800–£7,500 | ex VAT | Published figure: Consumer guide £50–£120 per m² by system (Checkatrade, December 2024). Area, system (felt, EPDM or GRP), deck condition and insulation upgrade. |
| Window replacement (uPVC) | per home | £4,500–£12,000 | not stated | Published figure: SHDF Wave 1 planned spend £4,461 per home for double glazing (DESNZ evaluation, December 2024); consumer guide £8,000–£15,000 for a 3-bed house (Checkatrade, May 2026). Number and size of windows, access to blocks, fire or acoustic specification. |
| Composite front door | per door | £750–£1,400 | not stated | Published figure: Consumer guide (Checkatrade, September 2024). Solid or glazed, frame condition, security specification. |
| Repointing and brickwork repairs | per elevation | Priced after survey | – | Priced after survey: Wall area, mortar type and access vary too much for a meaningful range. Area, lime or cement mortar, brick replacement and scaffold. |
Planned and capital works
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kitchen replacement in a programme | per kitchen | £5,000–£10,000 | not stated | Derived from published totals: Harrow Council 2024–26 programme (about £6,000 per kitchen or bathroom, derived); consumer guide range from £5,250 (Checkatrade, March 2026). Layout changes, electrics and plumbing, asbestos, flooring and decoration. |
| Bathroom replacement in a programme | per bathroom | £5,500–£8,000 | not stated | Published figure: Consumer guide average £7,000 (Checkatrade, March 2026); Harrow programme blended average about £6,000. Shower or bath, tanking, extract ventilation, floor condition and electrics. |
| Level-access shower / wet room conversion | per home | £4,750–£6,500 | not stated (relief may apply) | Published figure: Independent Review of the Disabled Facilities Grant (England average £4,755, 2016/17); Habinteg (2024: £6,500+ in an older home). Floor construction (concrete floors may need a pumped waste), room size and electrics. VAT relief for disabled people may apply. |
| Full rewire (2–3 bed) | per home | £3,800–£8,000 | ex VAT | Published figure: Consumer guide: 1-bed flat £3,900 to 3-bed house £6,225 (Checkatrade, March 2023); upper end allows for price rises and making good. Surface or concealed wiring, making good and consumer unit. |
| External redecoration | per house | £800–£3,600 | unclear | Published figure: Consumer guide: terraced £800–£1,600, semi-detached £1,800–£3,600 (Checkatrade, 2025–26). No social housing programme rate was found. Pre-paint repairs, scaffold or ladders, number of elevations. |
Retrofit and energy
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whole-house retrofit towards EPC C | per home | £13,500–£23,600 | not stated | Published figure: Social Housing Decarbonisation Fund Wave 1 evaluation (DESNZ, December 2024): about £13,500 actual for homes starting at EPC D, bid-stage mean £23,610. Starting EPC band, wall type, low-carbon heating and PAS 2035 overheads. |
| External wall insulation | per house | £10,000–£18,500 | 0% (energy-saving materials) | Published figure: FMB (March 2026: average £10,000 for a 3-bed semi); SHDF Wave 1 actual cost £18,395 per install. Wall area, detailing at eaves and openings, moving services and scaffold. |
| External wall insulation | per m² | £85–£130 | 0% (energy-saving materials) | Published figure: FMB, March 2026. System, finish (render or brick-slip) and complexity. |
| Cavity wall insulation | per home | £950–£2,700 | 0% (energy-saving materials) | Published figure: Consumer guide: flat £950 to semi £2,700 (Checkatrade, November 2024); SHDF planned spend £1,505. Wall area and whether old fill must be extracted first. |
| Loft insulation top-up | per home | £650–£1,200 | ex VAT | Published figure: Consumer guide £654–£1,206 (Checkatrade, March 2025); SHDF planned spend £878. Loft size, boarding, clearance and ventilation work. |
| Air source heat pump | per home | £10,000–£14,000 | 0% (energy-saving materials) | Published figure: Boiler Upgrade Scheme median installed cost £13,041 in 2025/26 (Nesta analysis, April 2026); rising towards £20,000 with emitter and pipework upgrades. Radiator and pipework upgrades, cylinder space and electrical supply. |
| Gas combi boiler replacement | per home | £2,500–£4,000 | not stated | Published figure: Consumer guide (Checkatrade, March 2026). Like-for-like or system conversion, flue and condensate routing. |
Building safety and compliance works
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flat entrance fire doorset (FD30S), supplied and fitted | per door | £2,400–£3,900 | not stated | Derived from published totals: Council award reports: Haringey, November 2025 (about £2,460 per door) and Oxford, September 2024 (up to about £3,850 per door). Doorset certification, frame replacement, making good, glazing and access. |
| Fire stopping and compartmentation | per block | Priced after survey | – | Priced after survey: Needs a compartmentation survey; no reliable public rate exists. Number and type of penetrations, access to risers and voids, and building height. |
| EICR with Category 1 and 2 remedials, programme average | per home | around £930 | not stated | Derived from published totals: Haringey's 2024 award report: about £930 per home inspected, remedials included. Extent of remedials and consumer unit replacements. |
| Mains-wired interlinked smoke, heat and CO alarms | per home | £450–£900 | our estimate, ex VAT | Our estimate: The only public figure found is about £220 for sealed-battery alarms in a 3-bed home (Scottish Government, 2021). Number of storeys and alarms, wiring route, making good. |
Adaptations, communal areas and estates
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stairlift (straight to curved) | per home | £2,400–£4,500 | not stated | Published figure: Independent Review of the Disabled Facilities Grant (2016/17 data); Habinteg (2024: up to £9,000–£10,000 in some older homes). Straight or curved stair, and the home's layout. |
| Minor adaptations (rails, small items) | per item | £125–£270 | not stated | Published figure: Habinteg (2024); minor adaptations up to £1,000 are free to the resident in England under adult social care rules. Wall construction and fixings. |
| Communal area refurbishment | per block | Priced after survey | – | Priced after survey: Published tenders bundle too many items for a usable rate. Floors, lighting, door entry, fire safety items and decoration scope. |
| Estate and external works | per scheme | Priced after survey | – | Priced after survey: Depends on survey and design. Areas, levels, drainage and materials. |
Other reference figures
| Item | Unit | Guide range | VAT basis | Basis and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Void works, sector average | per void | £3,700–£5,700 | not stated (accounting cost) | Published figure: Housemark 2023/24 (about £3,700 per void, derived from sector totals); Dudley Council 2024/25 (£5,695); Moray Council 2024/25 (£5,120). What your lettable standard triggers: kitchens, rewires, heating, clearance, asbestos and damp. |
| Electrical inspection (EICR) | per home | £120–£250 | not stated | Published figure: Consumer guide (MyBuilder, 2025). Size of home and number of circuits. |
| Ground-floor bedroom and shower room extension, England average | per home | about £31,939 | not stated | Published figure: Independent Review of the Disabled Facilities Grant: England average £31,939 (2016/17 prices). Size, foundations, drainage and planning. Figures are dated and today's costs will be higher. |
| Ground-floor bedroom and shower room extension, London average | per home | about £55,243 | not stated | Published figure: Independent Review of the Disabled Facilities Grant: London average £55,243 (2016/17 prices). As above; London costs were the highest in the review. |
How do prices vary by region?
Guide ranges are UK figures. Our local pages and budget tool adjust them with these regional cost factors.
| Region or nation | Factor | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| London | 1.22 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: inner London 1.17–1.32, outer London 1.08–1.26 |
| South East | 1.10 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 1.05–1.15 |
| East of England | 1.04 | Our estimate |
| South West | 1.02 | Our estimate |
| West Midlands | 0.97 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 0.95–1.00 |
| East Midlands | 1.02 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 1.01–1.07 |
| North West | 1.01 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 1.01–1.02 |
| Yorkshire and the Humber | 0.92 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 0.90–0.96 |
| North East | 0.90 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 0.89–0.93 |
| Wales | 0.93 | VOA Rating Cost Guide 2026: 0.88–0.98 |
| Scotland | 0.97 | Our estimate; no public location factor found |
| Northern Ireland | 0.90 | Our estimate; no public location factor found |
What about VAT?
Our quotes are given before VAT, which is how contractors normally quote business clients, with VAT added where it applies. The guide figures above are before VAT where the source states it; several sources do not say, and sector averages such as void and repair costs are accounting costs that may include VAT. The VAT basis column shows what each source records. Energy-saving materials such as insulation, heat pumps and solar panels are zero-rated in residential accommodation until 31 March 2027 under HMRC Notice 708/6, then 5%. Some adaptations for disabled people can also be zero-rated. Housing associations usually cannot recover VAT on repairs, while councils normally can; check your own position.
Common questions
Are these prices quotes?
No. They are rounded planning figures from published sources, derived figures or our own estimates, with the basis shown for each. Every job is priced after survey.
Why are some items 'priced after survey'?
Because published figures vary too much to be useful, for example fire stopping, communal refurbishment and estate works, where scope depends entirely on the building.
Do you work to schedules of rates?
Yes. We can price against your schedule of rates, including NHF-based schedules, or give fixed prices per job, per property or per unit.